Rewiring the System


Hope Dispelled: Circles of Distrust

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on July 21, 2008

I write about my understanding of the connection between my spiritual practices, my gifts, and my leadership and ministries.

The experience of poetic creativeness is not found staying at home, nor yet in traveling, but in transitions from one to the other, which must therefore be adroitly managed to present as much transitional surface as possible.  -Ralph Waldo Emerson

circles of distrust abound

Is the popular worldly ‘on stage’ and ‘back stage’ label which everyday living is offering a grit creating friction? As I transition from a public persona back to my private face then back into the quiet place in my heart, do I notice the pace I take over this divide? Is this friction, back and forth, working to polish or extinguish my ‘little light’? I ask myself if I can overcome the circles of distrust and bring a natural process of soul light on the surface of life? Am I building a trust that allows each person to share his or her individual story and gift. Richard Feynman says, somewhere in ‘QED: The Strange Theory of Light and Matter’, that humans are a collection of stories and songs.

As I move, my heart is constantly shinning with simplicity of its secret treasure. I will call this treasure trust. I trust that as I move in my human body I have a strong link from my outer world back to my warm heart. I choose to walk in the folding and unfolding relationships, using my meditation practice, working to be awake to the interchanges, knowing that change is constant. Alternatively, do I sometimes choose to slip and find myself to be asleep in my own life?  During this slip, do I get lost in the cacophony of sights and sounds, losing my hold on my important true spiritual connection, which is my home? My ‘Home’ uses ‘Love in Action’ as the rope to the barn since I am one who thrives on things as they really are. My gift is the Light I have tended by reflection on and contemplation of the highest good I can imagine. This is visible to those in need of a warm heart and an available ear. I choose to live as a beacon post of the web of persons choosing a life of service to the whole.

People come up to me as I sit for a meal or am out shopping or walking my daughters dog and choose to tell me about their troubles and pleasures that are on their minds and in their hearts at this moment. I take the act of listening to the stories of people share of their lives with grace of holding them in my hearts secret prayerful place.

My 30 years of study and practice under the watchful direction of loving Tibetan Lama’s who shed their light on my study, directing me toward my true self.  I came to understand that my true self is a less dense nature which is using this body as a castle in the three dimensional world. In my daily meditation, by breathing rhythmically,  I move into my heart, using the forces of nature at my command to cast aside the peripheral material moving which is a storm, into the beauty of the paradise of Infinity. From that lighted shimmering space, I breathe in through my heart, transitioning the outside to the inside and breathing out peace. Peace is the label of the formless form I call the core of ‘love in action.’ This is my human birthright: to bring the inner peacefulness into every thought feeling word and action as I present a living light in the world. Not a savior but a servant, not an ego but a soul meeting and greeting all those whose lives intersect mine .

Some people have a continuing confusion about the place that the animal kingdom plays in the grand scheme of life on Earth.   A spiritual friend on the path who is living in Russia sent me his thought as part of a conversation we are having about a utube clip about a Lion befriending two men,  take a look!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MnMPEG-duVo.

Imagine thinking that an animal has thought processes with affection like a human with a thumb and large pre- frontal cortex.

I believe this pertains to my current question of spiritual practices and their gifts.

I quote from Sigurbjorn’s letter:

“We should avoid humanize the animals. Animals are just animals. It is the tendency to put the human emotional onto animals. Animals have instincts, they react to any movement, they feel pains, but animals don’t have in them a intended cruelty as man has, although a human can train any of them to act abnormally.
We humans have the ability to utilize, control, destroy or rebuild all the aspects in the Nature. We can with modern knowledge adapt to any animal conditions and manipulate any animals, precisely that shows us how delicate the relationship is and how great our responsibility is toward our lesser brothers.
As Spiritual Leaders, we should fight against unjust conditions/treatment of animals as well as unjust treatment against humans. But to put a sentimental feeling to humanizing animals is not the real world, it is a fantasy.”

Humans can have a slip on this inside outside Mobius strip, which will be death dealing since we loose mental contact and physical stability and the connection with other people at that moment. What happens to the thoughtful intellectual connection with both lovers and friends? Where do our work effort and our dreams (ideals) go when we loose our contact with our natural purpose?. I want to move from ego centered collection of smart facts and away from the sentimental dissipating, coalescing clouds of ambient emotions and out of the cloistered places where only like minded folk survive. I do not use the word hope since that word means a small chance of happening.  The Wikipedia definition sheds why I choose not to use or rely on this word.

Hope is a belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life. Hope implies a certain amount of despair, wanting, wishing, suffering or perseverance — i.e., believing that a better or positive outcome is possible even when there is some evidence to the contrary. [1]

Beyond the basic definition, usage of the term hope follows some basic patterns which distinguish its usage from related terms:

  • To wish for something with the expectation of the wish being fulfilled. [2]
  • Hopefulness is somewhat different from optimism in that hope is an emotional state, whereas optimism is a conclusion reached through a deliberate thought pattern that leads to a positive attitude. But hope and optimism both can be based in unrealistic belief or fantasy.
  • When used in a religious context, hope carries a connotation of being aware of spiritual truth; see Hope (virtue).
  • In Catholic theology, hope is one of the three theological virtues (faith, hope, and charity), which are spiritual gifts of God. In contrast to the above, it is not a physical emotion but a spiritual grace.
  • Hope is distinct from positive thinking, which refers to a therapeutic or systematic process used in psychology for reversing pessimism.
  • The term false hope refers to a hope based entirely around a fantasy or an extremely unlikely outcome

Leave a Reply

