Rewiring the System


Machines that ‘Read” Your Brain

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on January 5, 2009
Tags:

Natural laughter and social laughter and laughter from under and around, there is a real difference in what you are communicating. Natural easy joyful laughter is good fun and good for your health. Natural laughter sounds wonderful to hear and to the ear it is a mark of understanding. My natural laugh means that I understand what I heard or what I saw. I am enjoying what is happening. Enjoyment is merry; I enjoy the merriment of life and laugh a lot. I recommend finding the true joy and humor in everyday stuff.
Social laughter is completely different and used as ‘place filler’ in the conversation. It shows that you are listening but that you will be leaving the conversation soon or that you are uncomfortable. Today at lunch, I watched the social laughter first hand. As soon as the man could break away and return to his friend at their table, he moved on. Pay attention to your own mind and listen to how you laugh. When are you really laughing, a natural easy laugh, and when you are just holding a ‘place’ in a conversation, ready to go to another subject or worse that you are nervous?

It is naturally funny that a MRI is now going to read your mind or read the network connections that label your thoughts. I got a Twitter message this afternoon about mind reading on TV tonight. I have a long illustrious string of actual events that connect me to this Sunday 4 January evenings 60 Minutes TV show. Where do I start to illustrate this spiral story?

Way back in 1969, when I was a long and lovely pink thin nubile curly hair down my back arm candy, get the picture? I had an introduction to a now infamous Philadelphian.

The back drop first: It was when I was the manager/head sales person of a leather goods store which was some form of drug money laundering operation next door to a macrobiotic restaurant. Those were the days, when my biggest decision was should I or shouldn’t I wear a bra today. I kid you not! Jerry Blabbet had the hippest gorgeous clothing store where I purchased most of my well-made and beautiful mini dresses and matching platform heels. My daughter has one or two of the dresses in her memorabilia closet.

I got hooked into this subversive group through an international organization, Mensa, that was interesting back in the day. I was a teen, (the exact age alludes my aged brain) and attended a Mensa meeting in the basement of what was at that time the Wharton School of Business. Built out of concrete it was fashioned after a roman theater to have an oval seating around four-foot high stage affair at the front. It was large. I seem to remember that the seats were not movable, but functioned like benches. Perhaps that is what heightened the roman coliseum effect.
The speakers were invited by the Mensa Monthly Meeting Council, to share their personal research using LSD in treating alcoholics who were in a hospital. This was before Dr Tim Leary and BaBa Ram Das got their long fingered hands into this research at Haaaavard. Timothy was working on some brain patterning to enhance learning. One of his bold ideas was to use rock and roll to teach subjects. Now there is a math teacher who I saw on the local news who has cd circulating to teach algebra and geometry. Did they ever cross paths or was the cloud of Tim’s ideas raining in that California math teachers yard one gray day?

The researchers from England had already codified the ‘trip’ experiences and had developed the buddy system to guide and designate each level the patient would travel. The ‘tripper’ went through the thinning of the emotional veils that let reality return to its unified field, they told us. Apparently, there is a thin membrane separating the machine from the flow, we are born with. It is much like the membrane right inside the eggshell. It protects the liquidy albumin a second time from the semi permeable membrane of the shell. This thin veil keeps the less dense parts of our human beingness from mixing randomly with our more grounded thoughts and feelings. LSD rents this membrane and lets the ambient swirls of feelings enter unimpeded into the squishy gray brain fat where it gets a non water-soluble home. At this lecture, I met Frank. He was very smart and savvy about how to use his brains for personal gain and have fun simultaneously. I loved Frank. He would visit me with one of his quiet girlfriends and we would sit and talk and agree or disagree with a whole lot of energy and passion. He just liked dumb women in bed! (The woman he married made lamp shades for a local lighting store!) Seems that was not unique to him. Frank had entre into all back rooms and planning parties of the social and political movers and shakers. I went along to see many events and affairs. The Hawaiians would arrive at a garage with a half a dozen largest size Rubbermaid trashcans filled with very high quality pot! They were all muscled and scary just like the Jamaicans are today! Frank introduced me to Billy who gave me the summer job at the leather cloths store. Frank took me along to the General Electric for a planning plenum for political events that would harness the youth energy for global consciousness. Back then, forty-five years ago, both the establishment and the young people understood about global warming and the importance of the rain forests. That is where I met Allan Ginsberg and his circle of merry pranksters, all rabid brainyaks. What fun to have a mix of poets with men and woman in and out of every walk of life. If I had not been so young and insecure, I could have gone along to any number of parties including Leonard Bernstein’s exotic festivals of food and fun. Summer came and went and the first Earth Day planted in the world consciousness a seed that we are just now blessing with energy and action. While working on the Earth Day schedule I met Ira. Frank introduced me to him, but I had a second introduction by a female friend, who shall remain nameless in this public forum.
Ira was a delight. He asked all the right questions and treated me as though I had something special aside from my beauty. That was confusing since my hormones were aligned in the right order and waiting to function in total femininity.
Ira and I would meet often and alone in his apartment and talk about mind in general and what mine could do in different areas. He asked me about synesthesia, where words are perceived as color! I thought of Scriabin’s mystic cord and Kandinsky paintings that were the score for the concerto as we sat cross-legged on his bed. (Synesthesia (also spelled synæsthesia or synaesthesia, plural synesthesiae or synaesthesiae)—from the Ancient Greek (syn), meaning “with,” and(aisthēsis), meaning “sensation”‘—is a neurologically based phenomenon in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second sensory or cognitive pathway. In one common form of synesthesia, known as grapheme → color synesthesia, letters ornumbers are perceived as inherently colored, while in ordinal linguistic personification, numbers, days of the week and months of the year evoke personalities. In spatial-sequence, or number form synesthesia, numbers, months of the year, and/or days of the week elicit precise locations in space (for example, 1980 may be “farther away” than 1990), or may have a three-dimensional view of a year as a map (clockwise or counterclockwise). )

Leave a Reply

