Rewiring the System


I Am Really Nervous!

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on March 11, 2009

How much time has been allotted for this interview? I am really nervous, smile…

I grew up in an old world family in an urban setting. Grammar school, Jr. High and High School were in Philadelphia. I started taking classes at Tyler when I was 16 then attended college there. Graduated in 1968. I took the all city teacher test, right out of college, coming out first is how I landed the job at Girls High School. I worked for the Phila. Board of Ed. for 5 years. When the Parkway Program started, I went there to teach unique classes such as Creative Conceptual Conjecture. I also taught at a north Philadelphia Jr. High that made the cover of the NYT magazine since the principal installed a washer dryer and stove in her office because she wanted her students to have clean clothes and food. I also taught at an Elementary school in Fishtown across the street from the Hells Angels clubhouse. I have taught all grades in school and worked with all ages of children and adults. I started reading Agni Yoga and Manley Palmer Hall just after college.

One of the men with whom I worked at the West Phila Buying Club and Food Coop asked me to write a nutrition column for the Ralph Nader paper that was starting, Viewpoint. I covered science, politics, arts etc for about 8 years. For a short time I worked at the Wharton Magazine at the UofP, then went on to the Hopewell Valley News and the Packet Publications, landing at the Phoenix in 1998/99.

I was a stay at home mom wanting to raise my child in the spiritual principles of the 10 commandments, the golden rule from the Sermon on the Mount, and my vows of compassion. From 1969 onward, I was studying scripture in literature and in deep Buddhist sutras, etc. In 1980, I was invited to a private teaching by the Dalai Lama in Washington NJ where he expounded on Anger in a scientific Socratic way like pealing layers of an onion one petal at a time. He talked for three hours as the assembled picnicked on the grass lawn on the side of the Gumpa. I thought: ‘I hope I remember this’. It is an experience I will never forget. It was the turning point in my life.

I took the long 2 week Kalacharaka empowerment with HHDL in 1991 with the lucky other 1500 from around the world. I took special instruction from the Dalai Lama 3 or 4 more times. I also received tantric empowerments from the Dalai Lamas’ senior and jr. teachers as well as the highest trainings from the Lati Rinpoche. I was instructed by my teachers to study several other religions that I might speak to people from their spiritual place.

The fruit of this study, and regular meditation was meeting Losang Rampgay in 1983 just a short time after my brain surgery. He trained me in exercises, practices, transmissions, and trainings that I might lead by listening as a spiritual prescience. I met Losang Samten when he arrived in the USA in 1989. Both Dr. Rapgay and Ven. Losang Samten gave me one to one teachings. In 1997 Losang Samten gave me his student robe as part of my special ordination.

In the early 1970’s my Mother saw how I lived my life and asked me if I could help her understand dying. This started my study of the end of life. I helped her answer her questions through a shared conversation. I went on to develop a few ‘games’ for seniors to do in order to open up to their thoughts about mortality. I worked with two friends in a Radnor Senior Housing for a few months.

This has been a wonderful journey starting when I was 8 years old with an interest in the Truth which is the basis of all spiritual practices and religions.

From my hearing the Dalai Lama talking about his 10-year study of the Western Mind, I have an interest in Unconditional Love. He said this makes us tic. That we have never been loved unconditionally from birth onward.

My background, work, and experiences all contribute toward making me a good chaplain. I want to be a member of a team for people in crisis and the end of their lives. I know it is comfortable, easy and liberating to hear from a chaplain who is tolerant for their tradition.

Leave a Reply

