Rewiring the System


Dear Martin Luther King

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on May 5, 2009

Sentences he left behind sometimes fill my mind for days at a time.  All my life, I notice when people do not allow the bright or muted colors of self to dance into the actions and interactions with friends, family, community and out to the place in the world where that color is most needed. I have felt this pain and directed my thought and feeling out to people who have not allowed themselves to enjoy their individuality.  It seems to me to be beyond simple insecurity this pervasive sense of low self-esteem or at worst, self-loathing.

I met a woman who at 90 wrote a book about her life with a prominent linear man.  As I listened to her opened and refreshing authentic story, I heard the effort to maintain any parts of her own qualities of creativity and grace.  She had to sublimate some of her color though stood her ground and worked at communication that perpetuated a long loving marriage.  Wheeeeuuuueeee

The courage to share her story filled me with empathy and understanding.  She used her time well searching along the path of an individual’s quality of relating and relatedness, the human factor in living together as technology takes many tasks out of the daily grind.

I thank Dear Martin Luther King for believing,  “We are tied together in a single garment of destiny, caught in an inescapable network of mutuality. . . . I can never be what I ought to be until you are what you ought to be. You can never be what you ought to be until I am what I ought to be.” 

Leave a Reply

