Rewiring the System


I Have Been Thinking

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on August 18, 2009
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been thinking just how self centered rather than self actualized the people are who talk to me these past months and years in Berkeley California. Is this true only in California or just in the choice spot I find my being lingering on yet another sunny beautiful day.

Some how I remember being on the east coast and not suffering such  mean marginalization. Here everyone seems to think only of themselves.  Not just first but in every way on every level and at every moment.

I was told a few years ago by a great lama that it was time to turn the loving care I show to my family and friends toward myself.  That was a wake up moment. I did not know that I was not showering myself with loving kindness.  How niave I was then and how much more so today. I took his words to heart and moved to the place on the globe where I always wanted to live, and now I do. The weather brought me.  I am sure I will thrive though I am short on a friend I can count on for good conversation and a warm hearted greeting that does not slump into bile and brine.

There is a particular young adult person who spoke to me as though she was in charge and doing good by giving me a reprimand.  She really wanted to let me know  just how ‘toilet’ I was in her eyes. With no grace and a heavy hand she rolls out the dough of her life’s future by stepping on others. Tut Tut girl, The Unseen Leaders and guardians of the human race watch your every thought and word. We are united , the spirit of goodness and the human beings together working to heal wounds and mark the attacker.

I brush the dust falling from her mouth and all the dusty pollutants  from all the careless mouths that strangle clear communication by blowing particulate ‘dis ease‘ making right speaking difficult. I walk my way but with a heavy heart for the future of the human race.  More and more young people have no respect for others.

There is a self centered delusion. When she is the age I am at the intersection last Sunday, what world will she have built? Carelessness will replicate itself in frozen fractals endlessly mirroring that drop.  The ribbon as a film strip will be there to view for all those who ,by their own efforts, can read what is deposited on that film. People are thoughtlessly speaking and creating reproductions of the most vile  sonic sort.

No gratitude for the abundance I have brought into her life or respect that I am her friends mother. After she spoke she got up and said, ‘excuse me but I have to Pee’ , then went to another table and sat and talked with other guests.

I have been thinking what the world is going to be like when this misguided 25 plus year old is in charge. Someone raised her and her generation with no loving attention.

As the Dalai Lama said in 1991  at  his teaching in Madison Square Garden, ‘The sad reason for the convolutions of the western mind toward materialism is that there has been no unconditional love in most western homes.’

Men treating woman as though they are expendable and woman no longer nurturing them.

It turns out that the girl I am writing about is just like all her friends and they all have lost the spark of light that comes from listening with love in their heart, throat, mind, and mouth. There is one in the circle who is kind and soft  and is being a good friend. But who knows if the smog of association will burn the grace to a cinder.

Speaking communication (traveling at the speed of sound out to the infinite darkness where other planets are spinning) is a good harbinger of humanities current.

Be kinder than necessary — everyone You meet is fighting some kind of battle.
Live simply, Love generously, Care deeply,  Speak kindly….

There is no Love but Love , Love is all there is, Love is all there is, Love is all there is….

4 Responses to 'I Have Been Thinking'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I Have Been Thinking'.


  1. bruce says:
    Thinking, that is normal for you. But that is not normal for most. Pavlov’s dogs represent the limit of intellect for most.

    On to your e-mail. There is snobbishness and shallowness in Berkeley. On the surface we see the great university. Below we see only conformity to a local normal standard.

    When we were 25 we knew everything. We did not respect life experience. We did not know the path another may have travelled. Think about the Cinderella movie with Drew Barrymore. Prince Charming rejected Drew because she was late. Merlin made him take her because of the route she travelled to be with him. From some the words do not mean a thing.

    Learning who we are and being who we are, that is the achievement. Our efforts to be us is to confront the power of all of the interests against us. Instead of continuing, I end by stating that McLuhan is my light on this subject.


  2. beth says:
    Your writing is greatly improving! I don’t have the sense that there is an intellectual chasm between us now. 🙂
    The people in California are very much self-centered. Although it is true throughout the US today, it is more so on the West Coast. I had not realized how incredibly mature my own children were until I got to know their peers better. Having raised them in the Midwest did make a difference, I’m sure.
    Here in Iowa things are much more progressive than there now and the people are much nicer. I thought I would miss the coast so much, but I really don’t. At least not the people there.


  3. Rich says:
    We each are our own garden into which we plant the intentions of our lives. Or more clearly; think of our lives as a garden in which we live. What grows there is primarily of our own planting, intentionally or by neglect. The people and circumstances we allow ourselves to encounter have an opportunity to cross-pollinate or deposit seeds in that garden that we can chose to nourish or weed out. It takes a dedicated gardener to be vigilant and not allow unintended weeds to overtake the garden. Enjoy your garden and offer your best seeds (alla Johnnie Appleseed) to all takers. Always be on the lookout for better seeds to upgrade your garden, but try not to fret the choices of other gardeners, just be careful not to let their weeds to take root in your garden. I believe the Bay Area has the best seeds available anywhere, but that doesn’t say anything about the amount of weeds present. All I can do is offer my boquets to you with love, knowing that my flowers bloom more often and better the oftener I do that.


  4. A Friend writes:
    I walk my way but with a heavy heart for the future of the human race. More and more young people have no respect for others.

    This sentiment, to my knowledge, goes back to Socrates and even the Bible, where disrespectful children could be executed!!! I feel that it’s almost always a mistake when dealing with human beings to follow the natural tendency of the mind to reason from the particular to the general, i.e. I see a characteristic in a few people of a class or type or age or generation or nationality and I reason that “all” must share it. My own experience tells me that one swallow does not make a summer and one lazy, rude or inconsiderate person does not necessarily represent a generation. Or, for that matter that individual person all the time. So much goes on with people that we do not know or understand. Some times people act and react badly not to what we or they perceive but to circumstances buried more deeply. In fact, I’d go so far as to say that it’s almost always a mistake to judge character by encounter.

    No gratitude for the abundance I have brought into her life or respect that I am her friends mother. After she spoke she got up and said, ‘excuse me but I have to Pee’ , then went to another table and sat and talked with other guests.

    Well, my cynical side always says, “if you want gratitude, buy a dog.” On the other hand perhaps the casual moving on is one of those situations demonstrating that familiarity, if not breeding contempt, at least can result in one’s being taken for granted as not needing or expecting the courtesy extended to a stranger. Not pretty behavior, perhaps, but not enough to assume that there’s no appreciation for the relationship

    I have been thinking what the world is going to be like when this misguided 25 plus year old is in charge. Someone raised her and her generation with no loving attention.

    Once again there’s no “someone” who raised her and her generation. There are lots of someones who raised lots of members of the generation. Twenty five is still young to develop genuine sense of proportion and, repeating myself again, it’s quite unfair to condemn a generation because one person who fits somewhere in it is rude. (My own situation is interesting, I’m a war baby. Both my children and my husband are technically classified as “baby boomers.” This makes my children belong to the same generation as my husband. And yet, I’d venture to say that our experiences are far more like each other’s than they are like my children’s.’

    It turns out that the girl I am writing about is just like all her friends and they all have lost the spark of light that comes from listening with love in their heart, throat, mind, and mouth. There is one in the circle who is kind and soft and is being a good friend. But who knows if the smog of association will burn the grace to a cinder.

    Not everyone is comfortable with the sweet words of love that are characteristic of your own way of communicating. This doesn’t mean that they do not have the capacity or that they have “lost” it. Perhaps they have and can’t or don’t communicate; perhaps it will come in time. Writing people off as lacking the spark seems to deny the existence of the divine spark that most religious traditions posit. I’m not prepared to do that and I think you are being to hasty when you do.


Leave a Reply

