Rewiring the System


The Tool and The Particle

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on April 19, 2010
Tags: , , , ,

I am very fortunate to have a wonderful brilliant ‘friend’ on Facebook, who includes me in his stream though so much of they way he talks about Physics is over my head. I am inspired to try and understand his world!
The ‘TOOL MAN’, Tim Allan, wrote a fun Quantum Mechanics book that starts in his tool shed. He makes sense without the cumbersome math code. It was barely comprehensible and some pages I had to reread but every page was as down to earth as could be in the small world of particle physics.

I know that professional ‘codes’ of special languages are essential to keep separate the comfort zones. Professional language is used to communicate swiftly among the professional group, which works and makes invention function faster. Some thought might be given by the professional physicists, doctors etc., about general communication could, should, and would be exercised when a professional speaks to a mixed group.

Like, I have a cousin, a doctor who is a prime example of what I mean ’cause he can say ‘dirty feet’ in ‘doctoreze’ and only Latin scholars and other doctors understand. I remember that afternoon when I was working out in the sports medicine area of the University Hospital annex with famous sports figures from basketball and ice hockey when my cuz started talking about one person’s feet! I suppressed laughing out loud and looked around to see the effect on the patient! He asked what to do about the condition and my cuz recommended an ice pack! I laugh about it now … It makes the social oil smooth so that only the inside of the circle is communicating and nothing can happen out of control with the outsiders.

I am a humble science groupie, who loves the scent of physics, the perfume of linear mind so much!

I do not know much about Latin or Physics, but I know I do like swimming in those waters. I try to share what little I understand. This beginning understanding is important so we can move forward together. The few with real understanding and many with just peripheral minimum information need to get ready for the great leap as we shift in consciousness. Can the most knowledgeable bring more outsiders see the ‘Light’?
I love what I understand… I enjoyed watching CERN in real time on my computer for the first run earlier. CERN is the The European Organization for Nuclear Research. CERN’s main function is to provide the particle accelerators and other infrastructure needed for high-energy physics research. This research gave us all cellular technology as well as light in the sword quality we use as lasers. Numerous experiments have been constructed at CERN by international collaborations. CERN is also noted for being the birthplace of the World Wide Web. The main site at Meyrin also has a large computer centre containing very powerful data processing facilities primarily for experimental data analysis. The need to make them available to researchers elsewhere, has historically been (and continues to be) a major hub. On 30 April 1993, CERN announced that the World Wide Web would be free to anyone. A copy of the original first webpage, created by Berners-Lee, is still published on the World Wide Web Consortium’s website as a historical document.

Curled up in my bed under my comforter I was listening to the running comments from the scientists in Switzerland. This is wonderful. Knowing all the time, that some of the inside workings are not generally possible to understand. The huge magnets and the flow of some tiny plasma, which is guided so that it will smash into a tiny site and possibly reveal its internal workings, is pure magic! I cannot follow the high-level prime math. I have a friend working on particle physics who had his experiment approved at CERN last year but did not return this year. It is very amazing to think about Particles and the elusive search for the ‘theory of everything’ is magnetic. This theory of everything was the daydream of Albert Einstein. He is regarded as the father of Modern Physics. He received the 1921 Nobel Prize in Physics “for his services to Theoretical Physics, and especially for his discovery of the law of the photoelectric effect.”

In a 1926 letter to Max Born, Einstein wrote: “I, at any rate, am convinced that He [God] does not throw dice.” He would continue to search for the Theory of Everything. Now one gains knowledge about the particles by accelerating them to very high kinetic energy and letting them impact on other particles. For sufficiently high energy, a reaction happens that transforms the particles into other particles. Detecting these products gives insight into the physics involved. CERN is a The Large Hadron Collider(LHC) completed in 2009.

Step into my shoes and see that I am prime curious but do not comprehend the math since I stopped learning math in third grade and continue to use arithmetic like a ten year old.

Leave a Reply

