Rewiring the System


13 Is My Lucky Number: I Need A Lawyer

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on October 13, 2010
Tags: , , , , ,

Customer service is not noticed until and unless it is missing!

Gentle people live out of honesty and graciousness. I do not know what to expect at UCSF after my afternoon at the oncology offices. Whatever game was going down is not interesting to me. I am too busy to play she said she said. I do not know what is being said behind my back or what is motivating the small talk but I am not getting proper health care.

Yesterday I had an opened talk about why I am unhappy with my oncologist and today there are two professional people in the room, a phd in pharmacology who is also an MD and a social worker who primarily functions within the oncology department both were at my radiation appointment to figure out if I was a druggy wanting drugs for some reason that has nothing to do with me or my life style.

I have to find out what the doctor I trusted yesterday told the doctor I have not had any questions answered and what and how this is going to play out in my survival!

The oncologist said things that she could only have heard from the doctore I like/liked. Why? Why would there be this sort of back talk?
What do the doctors have to gain?

I feel as though I need a lawyer!
So here I sit wanting to rest and heal from the radiation and I have to play school yard personality whispering games. I need help!

The most amazing part is the story change because I did not have a tape recording of the oncologists sentences. I never would have come up with numbers for the amount of radiation I was given so I repeated what I was told to the doctor I saw Tuesday. Somehow everything was turned around and I have to defend myself when I feel so sick.
I need a lawyer!
It is absurd

I have a broken heart. I know that I do not have to ever see the oncologist again but I must clear up the them against me situation. I am a patient who is being mistreated and what recourse do I have? I need a lawyer. Do you know a lawyer I can talk with about the hospital game.

The good Tuesday doctor said that I have cortical hormone in overabundance and this is making me sick. Symptoms include rapid weight gain, particularly of the trunk and face with sparing of the limbs (central obesity). A common sign is the growth of fat pads along the collar bone and on the back of the neck (buffalo hump) and a round face often referred to as a “moon face”. Other symptoms include hyperhidrosis (excess sweating), telangiectasia (dilation of capillaries), thinning of the skin (which causes easy bruising and dryness, particularly the hands) and other mucous membranes, proximal muscle weakness (hips, shoulders), and hirsutism (facial male-pattern hair growth), baldness and/or cause hair to become extremely dry and brittle. The excess cortisol may also affect other endocrine systems and cause, for example, insomnia, inhibited aromatase. Patients frequently suffer various psychological disturbances, ranging from euphoria to psychosis. Depression and anxiety are also common.

How would the very doctor who noticed that I have the symptoms of excess cortical orchestrait a situation where I wold become more stressed.
I had a lot of stress because a doctor did not ever answer my questions. Why in the presence of two employees of the hospital tell me one number then in our private conversation tell a different number of grays and a different story, and why? What does she have to gain by not being honest? What does she have to cover up? The truth is evident in her heart and will live with her as long as she lives.
I need a lawyer.

Why would the oncologist not allow me to see my record or tell me what I have to look forward to in the steps to my recovery, instead telling me to look it up on the internet? Why do I have to be treated badly by the person who is the department director? What do I do to get proper care. Who is behind all of this theatrics?

Respect is always earned and can never be demanded by a blame game.

Why is an intelligent woman patient treated with no information about what is going on inside her body?

What is the goal of this behavior?

One Response to '13 Is My Lucky Number: I Need A Lawyer'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '13 Is My Lucky Number: I Need A Lawyer'.


  1. Ilsa,

    I don’t think you need a lawyer. I think you need to have a serious talk with your medical team and make it clear that you want to be a full participant in your medical care.

    Cancer is a scary experience for most people. Doctors try to isolate their patients from that experience as much as possible. They way they talk to you, as a patient, is totally different than the way they talk about you to colleagues. It’s not illegal or even necessarily ‘wrong’ but it is frustrating. To be fair though, most patients don’t WANT to hear the ‘dirty details’ of their treatment, they want to get better and that is all that matters to them.

    Perhaps your treatment team has missed the fact that you are not a typical know-nothing patient. You want to (and have a right to be) an active part of your treatment and healing process. Make that clear to them. Tell them you want direct, clear, unfiltered information about your case. Tell them you do not want the meaningless ‘feel good’ talk and that you are a big girl who can handle the direct truth.

    In the end, I think this will go much further than hiring a lawyer.

    Just my $0.02.


Leave a Reply

