Rewiring the System


I Am

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on February 22, 2011
Tags: , , , , ,

Water and oil are thought by so many people as opposites that are unable to mix, yet they are the basis for every great salad dressing.  I have been thinking about respect and grief. In the past Month two people I know felt the physical disappearance of a loved one. Mortality and the movement of forms through the stages is a process that I and most people do not think about. My favorite personal reality check about my mortal changing and change in general is the image of me as a baby. Yes just a heart beat or two ago I was a baby. I was unable to open a refrigerator door or care for myself. I was in diapers because I had not the height, strength or knowledge of the action steps of the elimination process. At this early stage what was I ?

I did not conceive the concept ‘I Am’.   Does I Am start when I looked in the mirror for the first time and recognized my nose and smile? I watched a science show that affirmed that dolphins and elephants have the concept of self as displayed as mirror recognition. If a white tape cross is put on an elephant or dolphins face and they are allowed to look at their reflection they will identify themselves as an individuality. So Is ‘I Am’ as a simple self recognition?

In the Divine Comedy, Beatrice meets Dante in Earthly Paradise after his journey through Hell and Purgatory with Virgil have concluded. Beatrice takes off into the Heavens to begin Dante’s journey through paradise on a flying Griffin that moves as fast as lightning.

Both lion and eagle, the Gryphon is the master of two worlds, the earth and the sky. The Gryphon, guards tremendous treasure of heart and guides our inner life as we move around in the external forms. The Gryphon is a union of a terrestrial beast and an aerial bird the tangible and the intangible, an amalgamation of lion and eagle gains in courage and boldness. He guides us to the treasure of treasures, the reward of awakening to things as they really are.

The griffin, griffon, or gryphon (Greek: γρύφων, grýphōn, or γρύπων, grýpōn, early form γρύψ, grýps; Latin: gryphus) is a legendary creature with the body of a lion and the head and wings of an eagle. As the lion was traditionally considered the king of the beasts and the eagle was the king of the birds, the griffin was thought to be an especially powerful and majestic creature. Griffins are known for guarding treasure and priceless possessions. In antiquity it was a symbol of divine power and a guardian of the divine. Some have suggested that the word griffin is cognate with Cherub who shoots the arrow into the heart of a desired companion.

Epithalamium , The New Yorker, 24 Jan 2011 page 69
You’re beeswax and I’m bird shit
I’m mostly harmless. You’re irrational.
If I’m iniquity then you are theft
One of us is supercalifragilistic.

If I’m the most insane disgusting filth

you’re hardly curiosa.

You’re bubble wrap to my fingertips.

You’re winter sleep and the bee dance

And I am menthol and you are eggshell.

When you’re atrocious I am Spellcheck.

You’re the yen. I’m the Nepalese pound.

If I’m homesteading you’re radical chic.

I’m carpet shock and you’re the rail.

I’m Memory Foam Day on Price-Drop TV

and you’re the Lord of Misrule who shrieks

when I surface in googles through the duckweed,

and I am Trafalgar, and you are Waterloo,

and frequently it seems to me that I am you,and you are me.

If I’m the rising incantation

you’re the charm,

or I am, or you are.

~ Nick Laird

Leave a Reply

