Rewiring the System


10th Neuroscience TBI Conference Backfires

Posted in Uncategorized by rewiringangel on May 17, 2011
Tags:

It is a history of policy without input. The Neurological professionals are not interested in sharing research and other working-in-progress information with the general public. I was sent an invitation to the conference two years ago. My registration completed by a publisher was completed and I recieved a confirmation on line. The problem for the conference organizers and the doctor in charge was because of a computer registration mishap. I had gone through the process answering all the questions properly. I thought I had dotted all the ‘i’ and crosses all the ‘t’. Yet, I was physically removed from the building by the chief of security at the venue. My credentials as a journalist were in order. I have been taken off the list for all communication from the Neuropsychological Organization. I have not been invited to any events. I believe that the traumatic brain injury business does not want any public scrutiny and no press.

Today I found the below comment in the comment folder. It is very interesting as We as a Nation face the large number of soldiers returning from conflicts around the world with terrible brain injuries of all kinds.

What can we do to change the flow of information from the trained ‘professionals’ and those who need service? This is important. I have been in contact with the service group, ‘Give An Hour’

I GUESS WE’LL HAVE TO FIND TBI INFORMATION ELSEWHERE

November 20, 2009 in bloggingbrainBrain Injuryconcussionhead injuryHead Traumalife,Mild Traumatic Brain InjurymtbiNeuropsychological Effects of TBIPersonal Experiences with TBItbitbi educationTBI RehabTBI Symptomsthoughtstraumatic brain injury | Tags: ,,,

Check out this post about how a blogger/journalist was treated at the Brain Injury 10th Annual Neuroscience Conference. Read it, and then come back.

It just boggles the mind. Who’s the brain-damaged one in this picture? Surely, not the blogger, to all appearances.

In all fairness, I have no idea what prompted the response like that, and I’m not sure what was behind all the hostility, but really… I just don’t get it.

This highlights for me one of the current tragic travesties of brain injury survival and recovery — the folks who profess to help us, live off in a walled city of sorts, doling out shreds of carefully guarded and dispensed information in such small pieces… and then they issue disclaimers about “everybody’s brain is different, so you can’t really listen to this piece of information”.

It’s maddening. And only rarely does someone like me come across someone like my neuropsych, who is actually committed to the relief of human suffering. Imagine that — someone in the health-care industry… who cares. And not only cares, but does something about it.

Can I tell you, if I could, I would nominate my neuropsych for sainthood, a Nobel Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and a truckload of cash from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, so they can continue their excellent work — and possibly train others to do like them. I am extraordinarily blessed to have the help of someone who is intelligent, competent, compassionate, and not sitting astride their cache of information with an AK-47 in hand to ward off any “info pilferers”.

People are suffering. Thousands, even millions are impacted, both in terms of being injured and being friends/colleagues/loved-ones of TBI survivors. Who in their right mind and right conscience can withhold lifesaving information and advances from people whose very injury makes it next to impossible for them to even understand that they have been injured?! Where is the justice, the sense, the sanity, the humanity?

It boggles the mind.

So, let’s all blog about it.

Thanks, rewiringangel, for writing and publishing about this.

Leave a Reply

