Rewiring the System


Poetic Creativeness: Together Everyone Achieves More: TEAM


My Personal Philosophy, revelations from reading

Parker J. Palmer’s “A Hidden Wholeness”

Some spiritual searching is simple and some searches are complicated. As a
long time practitioner of meditation, I spend time in silently contemplating
mysteries of the inner self.  I reflect on both the individual moments and
those in the complex relationships of working in a group. Ruminating on
being a good listener and an open-hearted person, I see reflections of truth
in my thoughts, emotions and actions as they blossom in the world. With my
heart open, I listen to the greatness of Infinity and to the singular
stories of people. My striving for such understanding has led me to think of
myself as a vessel, as a chalice – with the dual purpose of holding
knowledge of the heart and of the mind. In my studies and practice it is my
goal to reflect the facets of understanding, accumulated over many
lifetimes, and find a new facet in the work I do with others. In many
intersections of my life I have chose quiet reflection as communion,
signified by my person within and without, to give space to singular stories
and at the same moment, to the greatness of infinity.

In order to truly see someone, to see the other person fully, I try to find that same truth in myself.

By dressing and moving with grace and being available to receive people and
ideas, I practice this new kind of sight. In discovering the basic humanity
within myself, I realize how our innate social energy can be elevated by
relatively simple means, deceptively simple. Because of my focus on the
subtle, and the awareness I strive to cultivate, I can often appreciate
where my presence is needed. This occurred in our very classroom, with John,
whom I could sense had a special readiness, and an interest in concerned
reflection. I shared a kind of affection of the soul, by creating a space
for him to view himself, a listening, caring role that was wrought not by
pontificating on religious texts or rigorous solutions, but rather by
something I’d classify as an active passivity. I am actively utilizing the
teachings I have received, but conveying them in a passive manner, in a way
that relays strength without a forceful or urgent tone. John has since told
me that he will remember that moment with gratitude.

From this interaction and others, I am always reconfirming the beauty of the

human condition, that we have such capacity to heal and to be healed. Our
souls are beacons of knowledge; our bodies can and do act out of genuine
goodness. It is up to our own ability to witness, and reflect, our fortitude
in flexing through life’s many lessons that determines our abilities to
deeply connect with ourselves and others. By integrating meditation into my
everyday life, I am working to pacify the afflictions of ago that clouds my
mind and hobble my heart. Buddhists refer to this as Dharma living in the
Dharmata; Quakers would say, discernment, living in the Inner Light. Both
are reference to the “Presence,” which is empty of the phenomena of our
everyday lives. It is a constant, embedded within our lives and the life of
the communities around us. As Dr. Palmer states, “the inner journey, pursued
faithfully and well, always takes us back to the world of action.”
(Palmer:108)
As I pursue my own inner path, I have again been called into action. My
daughter asked me to listen to a serious problem. I said to her that I
would, “just listen,” and would “allow her to hear what is going on.” She
replied, “Mom, that is what you always do and that is why I come talk to
you.” I help her and others by not fixing or saving. Opinions are often
reflections of past aversions, like Opened Yawns! — familial habits that
shade our vision, that same kind of sight I spoke of earlier. “Advice is
just like sharing last week’s dirty laundry,” as the saying goes, but
neither overt opinion nor advice are attractive ways to be of service. Like
gossip, they break the social fabric of community where honest sharing can
occur.

In an absence of such cluttered communication, interconnectedness shines. It
is created by the same willingness, or readiness that I’ve experienced with
John and my daughter. It can be cultivated by the simple act of lighting a
flame and forming a circle. The very exercise of creating a powerful symbol
– the circle – and igniting the energy of light are enough to foster this
connection. From such a base it is possible for genuine human connectedness
to fill the longing of men and women. A Hidden Wholeness lists the steps
needed to create the kind of intimacy we long for, the kind of intimacy from
which point we can act as our higher selves. Palmer calls it a
counter-cultural approach. it is currently an uncommon practice to ask open
ended questions. We need to change the way we tell our story, a more
inclusive way as Palmer suggests, for society to maintain. This kind of
faith in each other’s ability to be honest encourages our own internal
growth, rekindling the cycle and restrengthening humanity. In quiet
reflection we calm our minds and hearts; in community, we build, each a
participant, a new way of co-existing.

  Spiritual, communal or social structures could be compared with
  “relationship selling,” a business concept where a salesperson honors the
  intellect of his or her clients by getting to know them, and thus serving
  their needs more acutely.

It is part of the paradigm shift of which I am an
active participant, bringing the “human” back into human beings. We are each
born and come into the world with a gift, which we are here to shoulder
aloft to shine. We are here to weave the light of our individual thread with
the fabric of the human family.
It is vital that we work at countering the “dividing life.” We must each be
true to our inner mission, trust in it and that of our comrades, and be
gentle with ourselves, all people, places, lovers, enemies. This is bound to
propagate a healthy self respect that will seep into our thoughts, words and
actions; When we honor ourselves and others we honor the world.

Fusion and interaction:

How to turn a circle of distrust into a circle  of trust?

“The experience of poetic creativeness is not found staying at home, nor yet
in traveling, but in transitions from one to the other, which must therefore
be adroitly managed to present as much transitional surface as possible.”
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

When distrust enters into a relationship asking “why” instead of “what” is
an important distinction in the internal questioning process.  At any
transition point it is crucial to look at the root, even at the method of
questioning. Such querying that I bring into my conversations and activities
makes co-creation possible. It is important to be more awake to what is
actually going on when I am with people so that I am able to inspire a
trusting atmosphere.    By acknowledging our personal mistrust we can ask
ourselves the right questions then bring the insights into group
conversations.   Moving as a conscious server, I work, by questioning and
listening to the answers, to knit together my personal identity with my
professional integrity building a vocational vitality as noted on the
Courage to Lead website.  http://www.couragerenewal.org/

  When we each face ourselves, we each reflect that knowledge outward,
fostering trust and looking very much like wise leadership qualities.

My daughter asked me to write a parenting book before she has children so
she will be able to understand how she turned out as she did and be able to
replicate the process with her children. She said that others had the
abundant opportunities that she had, yet many have not become successful
adults who walk on the straight and narrow folding of reality.  She knows
that I was a single parent as her father was otherwise occupied for most of
the activities, and I was operating with a quarter of my brain surgically
removed.  How did I manage?

Every morning I pull up my ‘on stage’ face, bringing along all the secrets

 of the back stage life with the cacophony of sights and sounds that make up
the walls of my current life.  I walk with relationships, awake to this
stirring of inner self pushing against the walled self, understanding that
change is constant.  Alternatively, I can be asleep in my own life.  Will I
slip on this Mobius strip?  That will be the end, since I will loose my
balance and with it I will loose my integrity.   What I need is a thoughtful
connection with others, with lovers and friends, coworkers who share a dream
with similar ideals.  My living practice is a reflection gained from my
simply sitting still. I open my warm heart against any common form of
interpersonal violence. Peacefully I look to the great inner teacher I call
lovingly ‘mother of the world’ for the path to honor the world. A circle of
trust begins when I can honor myself and honor others with respect and
love.  The distrust dissipates by my integrity in action.  I gave a
productivity ‘in service’ hour at the One Stop in Oakland.  I bring forth
the belief that, Together Everyone Achieves More: TEAM. This is the value of
the inward spiritual journey.  My ‘Home’ uses ‘Love in Action’.  It is the
> rope I braid and gather in circles on my way toward self-integration.  I am
one who thrives on things as they really are in concert with the laws of the
universe and our solar system. What is the timetable and what are the rules
for the smooth function of society and community? This is what I want to
know. With this training, I now have the program steps and the community
connection to develop tools to bring personal clarity to those who come to
me for help.  My gift is the inner glow stoked and tended by reflection on
and contemplation of the ‘highest good’ I can imagine, both for myself and
for those in the world community. This is visible to those in need of a warm
heart and an available ear. I choose to live my life as a friend on the
path, as a person choosing a life of service to the whole with wholeness.  I
base my choice to do chaplaincy work on this friendliness approach.  Does it
matter what ‘religion’ I practice when I am serving in this way?  I bring my
years of sitting practice to a Muslim as well as an Ibo or a Quaker and
Buddhist.  This is the beauty of sharing the experience of bringing an open
wholeness to all my conversation.

Clouds are flowing in the river, waves are flying in the sky. Life is
laughing in a pebble. Does a pebble ever die?
Flowers grow out of garbage, such a miracle to see. What seems dead and what
seems dying makes for butterflies to be.
Life is laughing like a pebble, flowers bathe in morning dew. Dust is
dancing in my footsteps and I wonder who is who.
Clouds are flowing in the river, clouds are drifting in my tea…. On a
never-ending journey, what a miracle to BE!
– Eveline Beumke

Leave a Reply

