Rewiring the System


Start Swimming


Through the good fortune of Nature and Nurture, I learned how to enjoy water. Swimming is it’s own special reality. Being completely comfortable in the dense wetness focuses my mind. Will swimming do that for your mind?   Sardine like I am sliding along with my society of swimmin’  humans, each swimmer is in a lane slicing along the surface. Summer is the time to join the Sardines.

Swimming is just singing along with your favorite song. The first thing is to get to know how you breathe. How long does it take for you to breathe in air and send it out of your body? I mean relaxing easy breathing. The step of being in rhythm with your easy breath is the bases of your individual singing stroke.

I remember when the idea of how long I could breath out was when I was in first grade. Every once in a long while I got to have chocolate milk. I wanted to have this experience last as long as possible. I had a straw made of hard plastic that had a figure eight and squiggles. I filled my chest and tummy with air and lifted the straw to my lips and blue out a stream to create glass circumference size bubbles. Blowing bubbles into my glass of milk has been a creative meal time activity for kids around the world.

It’s the way to start! Stand at the edge of the pool and put your arms out and hold on. Bend your knees and blow bubbles with your lips just at the top of the water surface. I suggest you do this for fifteen minutes at least with no distractions. So you can feel relaxed and knowledgeable as to the time you take to breath in and out. Once you understand this base line inner rhythm.

The rest of swimming is easy…  It is the breathing under water that creates all the tension and resistance.

The legs kicking do a count of One Two Three Four to each in and out breath. Your arms do one stroke to two kicks of your legs.

Its One Two Three Four base which can be most songs with the One and a Two melody line and off you go out of the kitchen blowing bubbles in to the great wide world of water fun!

2 Responses to 'Start Swimming'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Start Swimming'.

  1. badthing1 said,

    Swimming is one of the activities in my life where I feel the most peaceful and joyful. I thoroughly enjoyed your description of what it means to you.


    • thank you… I swim at the very least twice a week. I cannot imagine life without some time in the pool! Let’s go swimming ..


Leave a Reply

